The first Horn Academy was initiated in 1997. After a 3 year lapse, the Academy has been organised every 2 years. Since participating in the Academy, many students have gone on to take up leading positions in a number of world-wide national orchestras. In 2004 many students came who competed in the Geneva Horn Competition later on in November that year, and one of them, Eliz Erkalp went on to win the 2nd prize.

The week consists of daily master classes with groups of 5 – 6 students working with one teacher. Every student will work individually with the teacher while the others listen and take note of comments concerning technique, breathing, interpretation etc which could be appropriate to them all. The students rotate in their groups so that everyone has a chance to work with each teacher.

Other student activities include ensemble playing, under the supervision and conducting of one of the teachers, preparing a work for the end of the week’s concert, and, weather permitting a “mini” outdoor concert in the town’s market place. Of course, there is time for practising and playing with other students, so bring your music along.

Teachers and guests from previous years:

 - Thomas Müller, prof. of natural horn at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis,
 - Michael Hoeltzel, influential teacher, soloist and conductor

 - Claudio Pontiggia, teacher, jazz horn artist
 - Hermann Baumann, virtuoso horn player and eminent teacher

 - Ivo Gass, principal horn, Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich
 - Esa Tapani, outstanding orchestral and chamber musicien, teacher at Frankfurt am Main

 - Christian Lampert, professeur in Basel and Stuttgart
 - Michel Garçin-Marrou, renowned player, previous prof. in Paris and Lyon conservatories

 - Christian Holenstein, 1st horn Bern Symphony Orchestra: advice on preparing auditions
- Maria Rubio Navarro, outstanding Spanish orchestral and solo horn player

This year's teachers:

  • Bruno Schneider
  • Thomas Müller
  • Maria Rubio Navarro

With the support of: Loterie Romande Conservatoire Canton de Neuchâtel

L’Académie de Cor est fondé en 1997. Après un premier intervalle de 3 ans, l’Académie s’organisera tous les 2 ans. Suite à leur participation à l’Académie, plusieurs élèves ont réussi les auditions pour rejoindre des postes importants dans des orchestres internationaux. En novembre 2004, lors du Concours International de Genève, une de nos participantes, la française Eliz Erkalp, a gagné le 2ème prix.

Pendant la semaine les étudiants participent à des masters classes dans des groupes de 5 à 6 personnes avec un professeur. Chaque élève travail individuellement avec le professeur pendant que les autres écoutent et prennent note des commentaires concernant la technique, la respiration, l’interprétation, etc. Les groupes fonctionnent en rotation et travaillent quotidiennement avec un autre professeur.

Un ensemble de cors est formé avec tous les participants et répète chaque jour, sous la supervision et le bâton d’un des professeurs. Plusieurs pièces sont travaillées puis jouées lors du concert le samedi soir et, selon le temps, une aubade est donnée à l’extérieur à la Place du Marché.

Les professeurs invités des années précédentes: 
 - Claudio Pontiggia, spécialiste du cor dans le milieu du jazz  
 - Hermann Baumann, corniste retraité et pédagogue mondialement réputé  
 - Esa Tapani, corniste Finlandais et musicien de répute 
 - Michel Garçin-Marrou, professeur au Conservatoire Supérieur de Lyon
 - Christian Holenstein, 1e cor, Orch. Symphonique de Bern, conseils pour auditions 
 - Christian Lampert, professeur à Bâle et Stuttgart
- Maria Rubio Navarro, corniste espagnole, connue pour ses capacités d'orchestre et de soloiste

 Les professeurs de cette année sont :

  • Bruno Schneider
  • Thomas Müller
  • Maria Rubio Navarro

With the support of: Loterie Romande Conservatoire Canton de Neuchâtel